Untuk menunjukkan kemampuan atau kebisaan (ability), kita biasanya menggunakan can atau could. Lalu, apa bedanya?

CANCOULD
Untuk menyatakan sesuatu yang masih bisa dilakukan di masa sekarang.Untuk menyatakan sesuatu yang hanya bisa dilakukan di masa lampau, sekarang tidak bisa lagi.
Contoh: “Now I can cook properly after watching Chef Davina’s recipes.

Artinya: baru sekarang si I bisa masak dengan baik setelah menonton resep-resep Chef Davina.
Contoh: “Four years ago, Harris couldn’t play guitar.


Artinya: di waktu empat tahun yang lalu, Harris dalam keadaan tidak bisa memainkan gitar. Mungkin sekarang dia bisa (can) atau tetap tidak bisa (can’t)
Perbedaan can dan could secara umum.
RUMUS
PositifS + CAN/COULD + verb 1
I can talk to your mother.
NegatifS + CAN/COULD + not + verb 1
She couldn’t hold her breath.
Interogatif (Apakah)CAN/COULD + S + verb 1?
Can you try?
– Yes, I can.
– No, I can’t.
Interogatif (5W1H)
What (Apa)
Where (Dimana)
Who (Siapa)
When (Kapan)
Why (Mengapa)
How (Bagaimana)
5W1H + CAN/COULD + S + verb 1?
Where can I buy this book? What can they do?
Rumus merangkai kalimat can dan could.
S adalah subject.
Verb 1 adalah kata kerja bentuk pertama, tanpa imbuhan atau perubahaan.

INGAT!

  • Setelah kata can atau could, jangan ditambahkan ing, -s, -ies, atau -ed
    Contoh:
    Mary couldn’t speaking English before
    Mary couldn’t speak English before ✔️
  • Sebelum kata kerja, jangan tambahkan to
    Contoh:
    I can to play badminton
    I can play badminton ✔️
  • Untuk membentuk pertanyaan ‘apakah’, jangan gunakan do, does, atau did
    Contoh:
    Does he can jump high?
    Can he jump high? ✔️

Fill in the blanks using can/could/can’t/couldn’t

  1. Penguins …………….. swim very well.
  2. I …………….. run very fast when I was younger.
  3. It’s snowing, so we …………….. go out now.
  4. Yesterday we …………….. play because it was raining.
  5. …………….. you play the piano when you were seven?
  6. You have a nice tricycle. …………….. you ride it?
  7. He has a broken leg, so he …………….. walk for a few days.
  8. I …………….. sleep last night. There were so many mosquitoes!
  9. We came as fast as we ………………
  10.  Is there something I …………….. do for you?
  11.  James …………….. use a computer when he was a three, but now he ……………..
  12.  Emily is from the USA. She …………….. speak English fluently.
  13.  …………….. I talk to you?
  14.  …………….. you swim when you were seven?
  15.  Sorry that we …………….. come to your party